Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Seeking Help

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 CelesteL

CelesteL

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:09 AM

Posted 06 February 2008 - 01:44 PM

Hi!

Sorry I am still very new with this so if I have done this incorrectly please forgive me and direct me where I should have gone.

The reason for signing up with the group was for seeking advice in the computer field with various questions I may have now or in the furture.

My questions now relate to my Window Me computer system. The defrag that came with my computer doesn't seem to be working properly. I can't remember the last time I defrag on the computer (shame on me). But when I did it seemed to have worked to my understanding. However in the last month I have tried a number of time to defrag and after hours the computer says it is degraging, but nothing is showing up. My computer is slower than what it use to be and I want to try to clean it up. From what I have understood this is one of the steps to do so. So what is wrong with my defrag program? And What else can I do to clean up my computer. My last question, for now is...on another computer I work with when I went to defrag that one it said that I had about 23% free space, but only 13% allowed for defrag, but the computer needed 15% to complete defrag. How do I get that?