Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Newbie Question

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 tdek

tdek

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:34 AM

Posted 30 January 2008 - 02:27 AM

I am fairly new to computers. I have a question regarding the network connections tab in XP. I see that above my network adapter there is a gateway. I cannot disable it when I am connected. I pull the cable and restart and its gone. I still have a connection. I am one of four computers, xbox and tivo connected to a router. When the gateway is present I check my default gateway useing ipconfig and it shows my router's address and when its gone ipconfig shows the same thing. Is this something to be concerned about? Am I going through another computer when the gateway is present? Any help is appreciated. Thanks

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Teenage.Zombiee

Teenage.Zombiee

• Members
  • 831 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:34 PM

Posted 30 January 2008 - 03:00 AM

I get this with my laptop. I can't work out why either :thumbsup:

Teenage.Zombiee is back ! :halloween:

#3 Rittnasty

Rittnasty

• Members
  • 56 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:34 AM

Posted 30 January 2008 - 12:07 PM