Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

? About Ubuntu 6.06 Lts

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 eaglehorse

eaglehorse

• Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:23 PM

Posted 19 January 2008 - 02:37 PM

I am a newbie at Linux. I have a friend giving me 2 older boxes one is a Win98 ther other has Win XP (SP1) . For the Win 98 I have chosen DSL as it has a small hard drive and it seems easy to learn based off the live CD. The other Box I would like to install  Ubuntu 6.06LTS . I have a Live CD of it and I like the way it looks and runs off my  laptop. I was curious if this would be a wise distro to install   on this machine or choose another flavor for that machine(That will be easy to learn and connect to the internet via broadband cable). I don't think it has a lot of ram but can't remember.I looked at it a few months ago .
Any suggestions would be appreciated :thumbsup:  . Want to learn more about programming but need to take baby steps as there is no local support that I know of.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 madman6510

madman6510

• Members
  • 384 posts
  •  

Posted 20 January 2008 - 01:19 AM