You have a real nasty infection on your system. Virut/Virtob is a file infector virus with IRC bot functionality which infects all .exe and .scr files
, downloads more malicious files to your system, and opens a back door that compromises your computer
. In many cases the infected files cannot be deleted and anti-malware scanners cannot disinfect them properly. When disinfection is attempted, the files become corrupted and the system may become irreparable
Many experts in the security community believe that once infected with this type of malware, the best course of action is to reformat and reinstall the OS. Please read "When should I re-format?
" and "Reformatting the computer or troubleshooting; which is best?
If your computer was used for online banking, has credit card information or other sensitive data on it, you should immediately disconnect from the Internet until your system is cleaned. All passwords should be changed immediately
to include those used for banking, email, eBay and forums. You should consider them to be compromised
. They should be changed by using a different computer and not the infected one. If not, an attacker may get the new passwords and transaction information. Banking and credit card institutions should be notified of the possible security breach.
You can try the AVG Virut Remover
. Follow the instructions exactly as specified and pay close attention to the instructions including the note on administrator rights
. If that does not work, there may be no recovery from this infection
. The only thing you can do then is reformat and reinstall Windows.
Virut/Virtob is contracted and spread by visiting remote, crack and keygen sites
. Those who attempt to get software for free may end up with a computer system so badly damaged that recovery is not possible and a Repair Install will NOT help!
Reinstalling Windows without first wiping the entire hard drive with a repartition and/or format will not remove the infection. The reinstall will only overwrite the Windows files. Any malware on the system will still be there afterwards. Starting over, reformatting the drive and performing a clean install removes everything.