Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Setting Up A Home Network

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 funky_beats06

funky_beats06

• Members
  • 51 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:59 AM

Posted 11 January 2008 - 03:01 AM

Hi,

I'm a newbie to networking.i want to set up a small LAN with three(or 2) computers.All computers have ethernet adapter cards installed.Basically, this network is to b used just for multiplayer gaming.i dont want the other computers to share my internet connection.Now,i want to know wat exactly do i need to buy for:-

1)all the 3 computers on LAN,and
2) only 2 computers on LAN.

Kindly give me all the steps that r to b done,from the hardware installation to the stage when all computers r ready for multiplayer games.

Thanx. :thumbsup:

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 gavinseabrook

gavinseabrook

• Members
  • 773 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:59 AM

Posted 12 January 2008 - 03:16 AM

Well if you dont want to share internet speed while you are gaming, i would suggest a gigabit gaming router. These routers forward most signal to which ever PC is playing online games. IF you dont want that route, pay for 2 different cable modems lol.

Gavin Seabrook

#3 Wassim

Wassim

• Members
  • 376 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:59 PM

Posted 12 January 2008 - 09:23 AM

its the same for 2 and 3 PCs.