Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Ascentive Performance Center

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Soccerteaze

Soccerteaze

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:28 PM

Posted 10 January 2008 - 05:35 PM

I'm brand new to BleepingC. I foolishly downloaded a "free trial" of software claiming to clean up a machine's operation by eliminating great amounts of useless file remnants and other junk. There is no free trial. I ran an uninstall, but there is still an Ascentive entry (marked "empty") in the programs and a monster popup called Ascentive Performance Center covers my desktop each reboot and at other times too. Can anyone help me get rid of it completely?

Also, there are many programs in task manager which are totally mysterious. I don't know if I dare to remove them, and when I try to match them in my applications list, they're not there!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Tomo2

Tomo2

• Members
  • 402 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:28 PM

Posted 10 January 2008 - 07:56 PM

Have you tried running a program like Spybot Search & Destroy or Adaware to clear the adware off your computer?
Using Ad-Aware SE to remove Spyware & Hijackers from Your Computer
Download Adaware Here

Using Spybot - Search & Destroy to remove Spyware from Your Computer
Download Spybot Search & Destroy Here

What are the processes you don't recognize?