Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Help With Persistent Vundo Trojan Please! Hjt Log Attached.

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Tredders

Tredders

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:25 AM

Posted 08 January 2008 - 02:13 PM

Hi all

I'm a newbie to this site and found it through Google, and from reading through previous responses, thought you seemed like a friendly and knowledgeable bunch!

I'm trying to sort out a friend's laptop for them - it's running XP Home, and Norton Security 2005. When I first booted it up, I found a number of trojans, which I removed fairly easily. However, one has got me stumped....

When booting up, Norton pops up a window: -

Object Name C:\windows\system32\gebbcd.dll
Virus Name Trojan.Vundo

Norton is unable to quarantine the file (as it's in use).

Now, I've booted in safe mode and run the Symantec Vundo removal tool, but it reports that the virus isn't present. Same with VundoFix. I also ran a number of recommended spyware tools (TrojanHunter, Spybot, AVG anti-Spyware & ComboFix) and they all come up clean. I'm unable to run a Norton scan in safe mode, as I'm getting a Windows error message ("Symantec Integrator has encountered a problem and needs to end").

I should also add that all of the Windows updates have been applied, and Norton's definitions are up to date.