Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

New To Vista, Need Help

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 onesweetypie

onesweetypie

• Members
  • 43 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:01 PM

Posted 20 December 2007 - 10:05 PM

Hi,

I am new to Vista. I just got a new laptop earlier this week. While I was using it the mouse accidentally hovered over one of those pathethic ads and I clicked there on accident. Since then the computer has been acting funny. The mouse always has a loading icon every now and again for no reason, even when nothing is loading. Also, I am not able to log into certain forums but I can with my other computer. I log in but I can't post and it says I have to log in...but I already logged in. I believe I may have caught a virus. I honestly don't know what to think since I'm new to Vista and I don't know how it works.

I ran McAfee Anti-Spyware, Ad-aware Select SE, and Spybot Search and Destroy. I had some spyware that's about it but no viruses.'

Is the mouse problem I'm having normal? Why can't I log into certain forums? I tried to run some online scans but Bitdefender didn't work for me. I installed the ActiveX control then I received a pop-up from Bitdefender:

"This web site is not authorized to host this ActiveX control.