Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Hmunml35dl.exe.conf?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 malachi31

malachi31

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:35 AM

Posted 12 December 2007 - 11:34 PM

Hi

I am a new member here. I have worked on computers for many years, and I am not an expert, but certainly well trained in security.

I do all the safety precautions, and yet I think that I have become infected by something, and I really need some help.

The only thing that I have installed in the last week was Wordperfect Office X3 full installation. It has a registration program and auto updater which I found a way to remove. However, since then I have a conf and exe file that appears in my C:\Documents and Settings\Username\Local Settings\Temp file from out of nowheres. It then spawns a process that takes up about 36mb of memory and slight cpu usuage. With 2 gigs, I barely notice it, however, I KNOW every program, service, and process running, and this one I can't identify.

I uninstalled X3 thinking it was that using a special uninstaller which cleared the registry and everything. I did a System Restore 2 days before installation, and yet this keeps reappearing. It is called hmunml35dl.exe.conf and it spawns numerous exe's called 23hmunml35dl.exe or various different numbers at the beginning.