Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Infected With Something Nasty?! Cutwail? Anserin?

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Frasz

Frasz

• Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:49 PM

Posted 11 December 2007 - 05:29 PM

Please be gentle with me as I'm no PC expert as I use a Mac, but my son's PC seems to be infected with something nasty! We have a home network where my Mac is hardwired into the router and 3 PCs have wireless connections. Recently our internet connection has been painfully slow and I can tell from the router next to me that there is lots of activity from one of the wireless connections. Basically 'something' seems to be continuously accessing the internet from my son's PC - to the extent that the only way that the rest of us in he house can use it is to disconnect him. All the PCs have PCguard (comes with our Virgin Broadband) protecting them and on his PC he frequently gets a message to say that 'cutwail' and 'anserin' cannot be deleted. In addition there was something called 'protector.exe' that was continually trying to get internet access and causing the hard drive to be continuously ticking away. When I blocked it trying to access the internet, the hard drive calmed down, but I could still tell that there was activity from wireless connection from the light flashing on the router and my connection slowed down to