Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Mislead.app


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Zenner

Zenner

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:01:42 PM

Posted 05 December 2007 - 08:20 PM

I started getting three types of warnings, so performed a scan. The warnings stated 1) "Windows antivirus - Windows has detected spyware infection." 2) "Mislead.App has been blocked, your computer is now safe." and 3) "Window's Security Alert - Warning Potential spyware operation. Your system is making unauthorized copies..."

The scan came up with 8 items. I deleted these items. The same messages returned, although with lower frequency. I have scanned again since, but it comes up clean. So am I safe, infected, or somewhere in-between? And if safe, how do I get rid of the messages?

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Edited by Zenner, 05 December 2007 - 08:21 PM.


BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 buddy215

buddy215

  • Moderator
  • 13,324 posts
  • ONLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Tennessee
  • Local time:02:42 PM

Posted 05 December 2007 - 09:05 PM

Use the Smitfraudfix tool in the link below. Be sure to read and follow directions carefully.
http://siri.urz.free.fr/Fix/SmitfraudFix_En.php

Important--Follow up with SAS.
Download and Install Super Antispyware free. Run it in safe mode. Allow it to quarantine whatever it finds.
http://www.superantispyware.com/

How to Start Windows in Safe Mode:
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-start-windows-in-safe-mode/

Post back with results of scans and for further instructions.
“Every atom in your body came from a star that exploded and the atoms in your left hand probably came from a different star than your right hand. It really is the most poetic thing I know about physics...you are all stardust.”Lawrence M. Krauss
A 1792 U.S. penny, designed in part by Thomas Jefferson and George Washington, reads “Liberty Parent of Science & Industry.”

#3 Zenner

Zenner
  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:01:42 PM

Posted 05 December 2007 - 10:40 PM

Unless something shows up later, the above information helped me solve my problem. Thank you very much!!!

#4 quietman7

quietman7

    Bleepin' Janitor


  • Global Moderator
  • 51,773 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Virginia, USA
  • Local time:03:42 PM

Posted 05 December 2007 - 11:31 PM

Now you should Create a New Restore Point to prevent possible reinfection from an old one. Some of the malware you picked up could have been saved in System Restore. Since this is a protected directory your tools cannot access to delete these files, they sometimes can reinfect your system if you accidentally use an old restore point. Setting a new restore point AFTER cleaning your system will help prevent this and enable your computer to "roll-back" to a clean working state.

The easiest and safest way to do this is:
  • Go to Start > Programs > Accessories > System Tools and click "System Restore".
  • Choose the radio button marked "Create a Restore Point" on the first screen then click "Next". Give the R.P. a name, then click "Create". The new point will be stamped with the current date and time. Keep a log of this so you can find it easily should you need to use System Restore.
  • Then use Disk Cleanup to remove all but the most recently created Restore Point.
  • Go to Start > Run and type: Cleanmgr
  • Click "OK".
  • Click the "More Options" Tab.
  • Click "Clean Up" in the System Restore section to remove all previous restore points except the newly created one.

.
.
Windows Insider MVP 2017-2018
Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2016
Microsoft MVP Consumer Security 2007-2015 kO7xOZh.gif
Member of UNITE, Unified Network of Instructors and Trusted Eliminators

If I have been helpful & you'd like to consider a donation, click 38WxTfO.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users