Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Xp Profile Desktop Problem

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 SysTech Guy

SysTech Guy

• Members
  • 130 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:35 AM

Posted 04 December 2007 - 02:38 PM

I am a Systems Tech for a medium sized network and a user, who is running XP pro SPk 2, has lost all of her documents and links on her desktop. I first right clicked on her desktop and made sure the "Show Desktop Icons" is checked under "Arrange Icons by"...which it is.

When I look at her Desktop folder through Windows Explorer, her links and documents are indeed still there. I tried dragging them to the actual desktop and it wouldn't work. I backed up the documents from her Desktop folder and deleted them all and then readded them....still they do not show up on her Desktop.

I created a Word document and saved it to the Desktop, but it isn't visible on her actual Desktop but it is in her Desktop folder.

It seems to be the same with her My Documents folder. When I click on Start -> My Documents the folder is empty, but everything appears to be there within the My Documents folder when I look at it through Windows Explorer.

She has been having problems all week with different problems, so I did an XP repair for her system, but the problem still seems to be there.