Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Computer Disaster: Corrupt Drivers?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 phillyladykeys

phillyladykeys

• Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:32 PM

Posted 04 December 2007 - 02:19 PM

Hello Everyone,

I'm a newbie and here's my issue:

I recently discovered that my husband's computer (Windows XP Home Edition) had viruses, spyware, and ad-ware in every form. I've never seen a computer as infected in my entire life. So I did what anyone would do. I whipped out my (very old, yet only) copy of Norton Antivirus and went to work. I ran Ad-Aware, Spybot, and other C-Net recommended programs. When it was all said and done with, we had gotten rid of over 300 infections of all sorts. After doing all of that, new notifications from Norton would find things here and there. They would be cleaned or quaratined. I thought we were fine.

1. Out of no where, the Start Menu and entire taskbar became unusable with the mouse. I got around it by using the windows key and the arrows to navigate. This mysteriously fixed itself.