Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows Security Center Alerts...spyware?

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Speedway73

Speedway73

• Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:02 PM

Posted 03 December 2007 - 09:37 AM

Hey all...newbie here and I'm not sure if I'm in the right place. I recently clicked on something I shouldn't have (a program or download) and now my desktop picture has changed to a black screen with the warning that my computer is infected with spyware. I have run every free spyware and adware program out there and still the same thing. I keep getting an official looking Windows Security Center alert that says my computer is infected. When you click on it...it just sends me to a page trying to sell me anti spyware software. My 'puter is much slower now and I keep getting pop ups stating it's infected. The same pop up everytime. I often have to refresh each page to continue. I'm using Windows XP.

Can anybody tell me how to de-bug this thing and get me back up and running normal??

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 buddy215

buddy215

• BC Advisor
  • 12,621 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:02 PM

Posted 03 December 2007 - 09:46 AM

It is likely Smitfraud or Vundo.
Use Super Antispyware to identify and remove the malware.
Post back with what SAS found and for further instructions.