Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Want to burn a backup copy

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 easycigarman39

easycigarman39

• Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:54 AM

Posted 22 February 2005 - 01:39 AM

Hello, I'm new to burning data and audio CD's on a computer and I'm having trouble getting started. I'm used to the floppy disc thing, but I now have a CD/DVD burner drive and want to make good use of it. Anyway here's what I'm trying to do: I want to make a backup copy of a data CD (display and sound drivers, etc). It's an installation CD. I send the CD contents from the drive to My Documents, and after this is complete I then open up My Documents and see that all of the files are shown individually rather than in a folder. Is there any way that I can send the contents of this CD from the drive to a folder rather than have them all shown individually? It would sure make things easier, otherwise, with the files in My Doc I have to then create a folder and manually put each one in the folder. Am I missing something? Seems like there should be an easier way. I put the CD I want to copy in the drive, I let the computer read the contents, I then right-click on the CD/DVD desktop icon , select open and see the files, then the edit tab at the top, I then click on "select all" and all of the files are highlighted. At this point I