Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Probable Virus Captures Postal Address & Shuts Down Programme

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Bob Grainger

Bob Grainger

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:55 PM

Posted 21 November 2007 - 04:31 PM

I'm an IT technician with 20 years experience, but have never seen this before. My client's laptop shuts down any programme when he types in his address pretty much exactly. When he enters '36 the road' (this not his real address though of course - client confidentiality!) into ANY programme, e.g., Word, Notepad, a web browser, Excel, even the Run prompt, ANYWHERE, the moment that he presses the 'd' of 'Road', the application shuts down. Instantly. I have witnessed this happening. He also tells me, although I didn't get to test it, that entering the address without the spaces has the same effect; '36theroad'. The moment the last character is typed (the 'd'), down goes the programme. I've also noticed the following happen. The '3' can be omitted, i.e., entering '6 the road' also shuts down the programme. Also, entering '16 the road' or '96 the road' etc. also shuts it down (it seems to wait for '6 the road'. I've also noticed the following: entering '36 the roa' (leaving off the 'd') and then clicking on something else on the screen will shut down the programme about fifty percent of the time (if