Jump to content


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.


Isp Is Messing With My Connection!

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Mimi1212


  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Local time:05:15 AM

Posted 21 November 2007 - 11:18 AM

Hey peoples!!

Ok, so I live in China and I have a horrible ISP. They are somehow redirecting sites to this advert telling me to download their super happy wonderful fast "connection software".

I have done a full virus/spyware scan, which turned up nothing. I have blocked their website on the windows hosts file. I have blocked them from adding cookies on firefox. I use script blocker on firefox for pretty much every website. But it still happens. It seems to be random websites. And not the same sites as yesterday.

And on the websites that are redirected, when I click on the script blocker icon "vnet.cn" is listed as a blocked script!

The websites that are loading, and show up in the advert are..


although in the browser URL area, only the website I was trying to go to shows up...

But if I use the tor network, they dont come up. So I am assuming that the ISP has some kind of software on their end that randomly, and sometimes it nearly everyweb site, hijacks the net and directs it to their bleepty advert.

I would simply use tor all the time except for the fact that it is slow as hell.

And I would switch ISP's if there was another one in this city. THere isnt.

So I think it has something to do with ports or something.

I hope someone can help me as it is driving me crazy!

BTW, feel free to spam and or sign those websites up for free porn and whatnot.

Thanks in advance!!!!!!!!!


BC AdBot (Login to Remove)


#2 Mimi1212

  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Local time:05:15 AM

Posted 21 November 2007 - 09:41 PM


Maybe there is another browser I could use that would be better than firefox?

This is starting to drive me crazy. I can still access google, and this website, but maybe 50% of other websites all go to that stupid ad...


#3 Andrew


    Bleepin' Night Watchman

  • Moderator
  • 8,260 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Right behind you
  • Local time:02:15 AM

Posted 22 November 2007 - 03:31 AM

Hi Mimi1212, welcome to BC! :thumbsup:

My initial reaction is to say that this is the Chinese government's filtering efforts at work.

I don't speak Chinese, but Google Translate's translation of the ad doesn't mention any governmental affiliation.

However, the vnet.cn website mentions that it is a state owned operation and is leading the fight against online pornography. (Google Translation)
Posted Image
Boo Censorship

Edited by Amazing Andrew, 22 November 2007 - 03:33 AM.

#4 Mimi1212

  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Local time:05:15 AM

Posted 22 November 2007 - 07:09 AM


Uh, its not a censoring thing, I can get porn all I want. They only care about Chinese language things... Ive lived in China for 4 years now and they have gotten savvy to english words like sex, porn, lesbian, bleep, vagina etc... but for the most part it is Chinese language sites that they censor.

No this is different, they are just trying to get me to download their spyware. It is because they are the only ISP in Changzhou. They are a bunch of bleepes!

This site is now blocked actually.. I have to use tor to access it. Connecting regularly will only go to www.js.vnet.cn.

I got my girlfriend to call them today and they acted all stupid.

So, anyone got any solutions?

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users