Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Booting Problem

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 jones777

jones777

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:17 PM

Posted 19 November 2007 - 10:48 AM

Hello,

This is my first time here so I hope I can make sense of my problem.

I am 75 years of age, but love my computer. Just recently when I boot up and my icons all come up on the screen, the last one to come up is My Computer files. It is not not an icon, it's my files as if I would have opened up My Computer. I have to close that, and then click on Explorer Internet. I think it is making it longer to boot up and also I can't figure out why it is suddenly doing this.

I looked on My Startup and it doesn't show that My computer is on that list and it's just showing up on my desktop. How can I stop this from happening? Also which is the best Brouser? I keep hearing that Windows Internet Explorer is having lots of problems. I have the option to use MSN. I recently loaded Skype, would this be causing problems?

Thank you all so much for any help here.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 dc3

dc3

Bleeping Treehugger

• Members
  • 30,590 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:17 PM

Posted 19 November 2007 - 11:03 AM

Hi Jones777 and welcome to BleepingComputer.

Have you tried to open these files to see what they are?