Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Hello & need help with laptop choices....

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 JeremyB

JeremyB

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:58 AM

Posted 18 February 2005 - 07:57 PM

hi everyone,

I am here in search of some accurate information and for some opinions as well.

I am a college student and am taking summer classes for the first time, problem is, I travel quite a bit in the summer and am taking a few online classes this year. I need to buy a laptop...

My main priority is to have be able to connect wirelessly. I admit my ignorence on the wireless connections but after being in FL a few weeks ago and seeing a guy on the beach on the internet with his laptop, the idea came to me and I decided to go in search of information. Price wise... I am not really limiting that at any point because of the importance that I connect when I need to be able to.

I have heard people talk about free servers that you can connect to at any time as long as you have a wireless card (or something?) However, it was not a trusted source.

I've been to the dell, gateway, HP/compaq websites to customize my own and before I do anything I just wanted to make sure it is as "easy" as it was said to me.

If you would rather privately email me or responses here are welcome.

Thank you for your time.