Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Spam Bots

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Goldwood

Goldwood

• Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:00 AM

Posted 25 October 2007 - 04:04 PM

Greetings Bleeping Computer,

I have a very interesting situation going on here. As I mentioned in my Introduction I am a musician/DJ and I have a MySpace page. I've had a MySpace page since 2005 but back in July my computer was hijacked from a fake video codec download that was posted on MySpace. After I got control of my computer again, I had several cleanings of the registry, etc. and my computer seems to be back to normal, the problem is, after I regained control of my computer I discovered the MySpace account had been deleted. I lost two and a half years of contacts, friends, etc. I started another account with the same name but different e-mail address, that one was quickly deleted. This happened 3 more times then finally I had one that seemed like it was going to last. It lasted for about 2 1/2 months. It was deleted last week. I was able to contact MySpace about this but of course they are not giving me any support or answering any questions I have with any answers that pertain to the questions I've been asking. The only response that made any sense was, "If you are using spam bots your account will be deleted. So I figured out the hijacking mo