Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Can A Printer Firmware Update And/or Driver Update Be Reversed?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Gloria B

Gloria B

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:24 PM

Posted 25 October 2007 - 12:22 PM

Can a Firmware Update and/or drivers on printers be reversed?

I am new to BleepingComputer, so I do not know which Forum to post this to, as this issue involves multiple forums: Hardware (HP Printers), Software (Firmware & Drivers), Operating Systems running Windows 2000 and Windows XP.

At my workplace, we have many HP Printers on the network. HP sent me a link promoting HP Easy Printer Care. I figured I would try it (big mistake) because I take care of all of the printers in our building. So this Easy Printer Care tells me that there is updated Firmware for my printers. So I get the firmware and install it. Of course, HP didnít really explain how to install it. I had to look it up to actually do the install. After installing it, HP tells me that the Firmware Updates still need to be updated!?!