Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Linux Newbie 'lost In Installation'

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 sipickles

sipickles

• Members
  • 28 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:45 PM

Posted 22 October 2007 - 07:32 AM

Hi,

I have plenty of windows (not vista) experience but am new to linux.

I installed Ubuntu feisty as a dual boot on my XP laptop. It wasn't used much since its a work machine and we use windows.

Now i've noticed that it won't boot ubuntu. after selecting in grub, it goes to a black screen with a cursor flashing topleft (_ not a prompt).

I thought i'd try installing gutsy over the top but can't get that to work either! It prints 'Kernel Alive. Kernel direct mapping tables up to 100000000 @ 8000_d000' and freezes. Some forums suggest removing 'splash' and adding 'noapic nolapic nosplash' to the boot line but it makes no difference.

And they say ubuntu 'just works'!

Perhaps my two problems are connected. Can I reformat my linux partition and try a fresh install? or will it screw up my grub loader and MBR and I won't be able to boot windows (NOT an option!)

Thanks for any advice.

I'm using AMD athon 64, nVidia 7300Go, 1MB ram

Simon

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Trio3b

Trio3b

• Members
  • 95 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:45 PM

Posted 22 October 2007 - 08:18 PM

Hi,

And they say ubuntu 'just works'!

Simon