Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Booting Problems

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 eminai

eminai

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:59 AM

Posted 08 October 2007 - 05:26 AM

Hi all
I am a rookie in this field and this is my first posting ever.
I need some help.
I have been using windows XP service Pack 2 on my laptop Dell Latitude C600.
My word documents got infected with viruses which my symantec v 10.0.1 anti virus i dentified as W32.Rungbu.C and another called Dizan.C

I was advised to update my virus definition files, disable system restore files then scan in safe mode and have them deleted by following instructions. However, after updating the virus definition files the laptop prompted a reboot which i did. The problem is that it does not complete the boot process, what happens is that before the desk top icons appear it displays the message "saving your settings then logs off, this happen over and over again". I have tried to boot from the CD drive, and at first it seemed successful but i did not achieve my mission. I tried it again however it has also since failed, it shows that some settings are invalid then authomatically boots from C again and the problem of cyclic failure to boot starts a fresh.