Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Is Wireless-n Worth It?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 darkside701

darkside701

• Members
  • 68 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:05 PM

Posted 30 September 2007 - 08:53 PM

I have no experience with networking aside from the fact that I just started working at compusa part time. So first things first Wireless-N costs more then G and projects farther. Is it that big of a difference that you should pay around $40 bucks more? On top of that Linksys seems to pwn at the Wireless-G routers are they one of the top Wireless-N brands as well?

Edit- I also was curious as to if or what the difference between wifi and wireless-G, N was? and would a wireless g card for my laptop pickup wifi?

Edited by darkside701, 30 September 2007 - 09:00 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 RandomUser

RandomUser

• Members
  • 518 posts
  •  

Posted 02 October 2007 - 06:06 PM

DUDE, did you not here that COMPUSA let go of half their company. Not that I would know about it mind you ;-)

BTW Wireless is a generic term for most wireless products. Wi-Fi typically refers to Wireless-Fidelity Network standards set for by the
WI-FI Alliance. Thus a wi-fi card with g or n capabilities should work on either or.... Two places that I learned about the technology was,