Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Advice Req For Av/spyware/firewall

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Tankie P

Tankie P

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:03 AM

Posted 29 September 2007 - 01:47 PM

Hi, I am fairly new to computers but realise the need for AV and anti spyware apps. Reading through the forums it seems that there are a myriad of apps that will do the job for me but I can't seem to spot one that will do AV, anti spyware and firewall in one bundle. People have suggested using AVG 7.5 for AV, Windows defender for anti spyware and zone alarm for firewall or 'Switch your windows firewall off mate!' Now these maybe good suggestions and decent programmes in their own right, according to reviews , but if I run all of them at once will they give me the correct level of protection or will they conflict with eachother for proceesor power and slow down my system?? Ultimately will they do the job or can someone recommend a different bundle or a 'does it all' app?

I am using a Toshiba Laptop, XP home, Service Pack 2, Pentium 4, 2.8 Ghz Cpu and 512 RAM (need more??)

Thankyou everyone in advance.

Fear Naught, Tankie P

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Crizz44

Crizz44

• Members
  • 496 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:03 AM

Posted 29 September 2007 - 02:29 PM

Hi Tankie P,