Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Show Hidden Files And Folders?

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 galen

galen

• Members
  • 27 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:38 AM

Posted 28 September 2007 - 06:39 PM

Hi

I wasn't sure whether this was a general Windows problem, or a possible malware. I'm guessing the latter:

I am a student at University, and about two days ago when logging onto a PC in the labs, I noticed a folder called 'desktop.exe' on the desktop (a folder, not an executable). I didn't bother with it, except to notice that it looked odd, and I plugged in my flash drive. Windows recognized and labeled it as the H drive. I had My Computer open and was browsing through my files, when I noticed a folder was generated in the root directory of my flash drive, called "H.exe". Unfortunately I was in too much of a rush to consider it, and the folder disappeared (it was probably set to 'hidden').