Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Delete User Help


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 deanpcmad

deanpcmad

  • Members
  • 184 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Location:Southampton, UK
  • Local time:04:38 PM

Posted 24 September 2007 - 11:03 AM

Hi

If I delete a user on Windows XP does it deleta all of their files?

Thanks
deanpcmad

deanpcmad


BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 Budapest

Budapest

    Bleepin' Cynic


  • Moderator
  • 23,579 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Local time:02:38 AM

Posted 25 September 2007 - 12:22 AM

When you delete a user account Windows should prompt you if you want to save the user's files and settings.

How to Delete User Accounts in Windows XP
The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who haven't got it.

—George Bernard Shaw

#3 WinCrazy

WinCrazy

  • Members
  • 265 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ambler, PA USA
  • Local time:11:38 AM

Posted 25 September 2007 - 11:45 AM

Hi deanpcmad.

If you've already deleted a user account but did not choose to delete the account's files, you can delete them by hand.

In Explorer > Tools > Folder Options > View, make sure in "Hidden Files and Folders" that "Show hidden files and folders" is ticked and that "Hide protected operating sysyem files (Recommended)" is unchecked.
Click OK.

Browse to C:\Documents and Settings
You should be able to see the user account's name that you deleted.
Select the account name folder and press Delete.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users