Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

New To Networking........

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Most

Most

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:08 AM

Posted 21 September 2007 - 04:17 PM

Hi all,

I am new to the networking game, I have been pretty much all hardware for the past several years and got thrown into running the network here at work. We have a small office network with about 20 computers on it and our server is an older Dell running W2000. I have quite a few PC's that aren't connected to the network drive or printers and I really don't know where to start. Like I said, I am new to this networking and it is very much my weak spot. I am asking what the best route to getting everyone back on the printers and network drive. I have looked up mapping but not real sure where to go from there. I can usually get the computer to connect to the network partially (like where it can see other shared items but not everything, I can only see things that are shared within new computers) but I can't connect to the computers from the server machine.

Anyone that could help would be greatly appreciated!!!

The past network guy really left things in a mess...........

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Monty007

Monty007

• Members
  • 1,151 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:38 PM

Posted 22 September 2007 - 07:31 PM