Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Vista Slower Than A Turtle

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 DrParkMD517

DrParkMD517

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:30 PM

Posted 19 September 2007 - 02:53 AM

Hey, I'm a college student using a Dell Inspiron 1520 laptop. I guess I should start with my system specs:

Intel Core Duo CPU T7300 @ 2.00GHz
2 GB RAM
128 MB NVIDIA GeForce 8400M GS

Windows Experience Index: 3.4
Processor: 4.9
RAM: 5.9
Graphics: 3.4
Gaming graphics: 4.2
Primary hard disk: 5.2

I am seeking help in regards to my painfully slow laptop. Every program I run will start as a non-responsive program, and after anywhere from 10 to 2 minutes (any Microsoft Office or CS3 program takes long) then the program will finally become responsive, only to perform slow afterwards. Office applications are constantly being forced to restart, my touchpad occasionally becomes non-responsive, among many other problems.

The slow speed isn't limited to opening and running programs. Opening the start menu, switching or opening tabs in Firefox, closing windows.... It's all so slow! Frankly, I'm getting awfully frustrated.