Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Building A Pc On My Own

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 greenhorn

greenhorn

• Members
  • 27 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:47 AM

Posted 16 September 2007 - 05:31 PM

Hi,
I'm attempting to assemble a PC myself and i've never done it before. i've bought all the components including an AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ and Asus M2A-VM mobo, i should be through with the assembly by tomorrow (hoping it all goes smoothly). I plan to run Windows xp. Now my problem is that i realize that once i system is built it has to be set up properly in order to perform optimally, and its not all just plug and play but i don't really know how to do it!
I have no idea what to do the first time i power up. I don't know how to set up the BIOS, i've been told i'll have to update the BIOS (or flash it!!) :thumbsup: before i do anything else. i even went to the ASUS website but there are so many versions of the updated BIOS for the M2A-VM - dont know which one to download? The mobo user guide describes a feature called ASUS EZ Flash 2 utility which seems to be the simplest. Sorry, i could go on with this for a while here..