Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Hard Drive Backups And Raid

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 benny269

benny269

• Members
  • 158 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:12 AM

Posted 03 September 2007 - 06:11 PM

Hi

I'm new to putting together my own PC (this being my first attempt) so please bear in mind that while I'm up for persevering to setup a RAID array if necessary, I probably don't want to get into complex configurations.

So soon to build a new PC, I'm trying to figure out how to organise my data on it. I will have plenty of drive bays and SATA connectors (so I'm looking for SATA drives only) with all the RAID configurations supported and I want a minimum of 300GB total storage space - around 500GB is preferred. What I can't decide is whether I should buy multiple smaller drives in some RAID array or partition larger drives and divide up information in that way or maybe both.