Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Plan To Purchase A Dell Laptop

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Rvan801

• Members
  • 37 posts
  • Local time:04:07 AM

Posted 02 September 2007 - 09:17 PM

I am a college student who is trying to find an affordable (under $1,200) laptop that features high-speed, wireless internet and modest processor speed. I do not take many pictures or download music; most of my work is done in Word or Powerpoint. Having said this, can someone tell me how this laptop's specs match up with my needs?

Ebay auction for a Dell Inspiron 1420
Intel Core 2 Duo T5250, 1.5GHz, 667Mhz, 2M L2 Cache
14.1 inch Wide Screen WXGA LCD
2GB, DDR2, 667MHz 2 Dimm
160G 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive
8X DVD+/-RW Dual Layer Drive
Integrated 2.0 mega pixel web cam
Intel 4965AGN Wireless-N Mini Card
85 WHr 9-cell Lithium Ion Primary Battery
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium Edition
Integrated 10/100 Network Cardand Modem
Integrated High Definition Audio 2.0
Basic Black Matte LCD back color
1 Year Warranty
Intel Integrated Graphics Media Accelerator 3000

If not appropiate, why? Would a Dell Latitude or some other model be better suited? I appreciate any feedback.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 madman6510

• Members
  • 384 posts
  • Local time:03:07 AM

Posted 02 September 2007 - 09:53 PM