Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

I've Been Tangoed

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 treefrog2

treefrog2

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:44 AM

Posted 29 August 2007 - 05:52 PM

Hi guys, I hope you lot can be my knights in shining armour or at least calm me down. Its a bit of a long story but the crux of it is... I'm not a techie but an auto didact on powerpoint for teaching. Anyway I recently got the net into my house and started downloading all sorts of animations and movie clips for my powerpoints. My school promised me anti virus software but I decided to work without a net!
Last night I got virus messages and decided to buy some anti virus stuff - I bought the spy-shredder stuff but following some dodgy goings on I became very suspicious and basically realised (rightly or wrongly) that this spyshrdder was dodgy so immediately bought some Norton anti virus stuff on my mate's reccommendation (at 4.00am he was not impressed!!!). I down loaded the Norton and then cancelled my credit card. I then ran the Norton.
My questions are :
1. Was the spyshredder dodgy
2. Having sent my card details to spyshredder and then cancelling it am I safe
3. Having run the Norton, have I got rid of the spyshredder if not can this be done period
4. Having bought and run Norton 360 am I now sufficiently protected