Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

What Is A Great Free Photo Editing Software?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Rebmahc

Rebmahc

• Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:12 PM

Posted 23 August 2007 - 07:14 AM

Sorry, im new to all this, but im sure you have answered this a million times before.

But, do you know if there is any really good photo editing software outhere, that could rival the likes of Photoshop and other top ones?

Im looking at taking up photography again, but need a good programme to edit pics.

Any ideas please?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Budapest

Budapest

Bleepin' Cynic

• 23,579 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:12 AM

Posted 23 August 2007 - 07:18 AM

I've used Pixia and it is okay. I'm not sure how it stacks up against Photoshop though.
The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who haven't got it.

—George Bernard Shaw

#3 alumbagh

alumbagh

• Members
  • 133 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:12 PM

Posted 23 August 2007 - 07:21 AM

I have never used it, but The Gimp is recommended by those who have.

#4 Ryan 3000

Ryan 3000

• Members
  • 834 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:12 PM

Posted 23 August 2007 - 11:52 AM

Indeed, the GIMP is a nice program. You'll have to download the latest GTK+ drivers and then download the GIMP itself. Just google both.