Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Problem With Opening Applications And Adding/removing Programs

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 BayouGirl

BayouGirl

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:23 PM

Posted 22 August 2007 - 05:17 PM

Good afternoon, all! I know this isn't the forum to introduce ourselves, but I'm a student and New Orleans resident, and as if I don't have enough crap to deal with in this city, my computer is going to hell in a handbasket.

The short and long of it:

I have Windows XP, Service Pack 2.

This past weekend, I used this website in conjunction with "Autoruns.exe" to make my startup time faster. After identifying the programs to disable, I rebooted in safemode and deleted the entries. They were harmless entries, like roxio-drag-to-disc, etc.

While in safemode, I ran a virus scan using McAfee. It found Exploit-VMLFill Trojan.exe on my computer and deleted multiple files. The trojan was located in the Symantic Antivirus folder, which is an antivirus program I no longer use because it seemed to stop working awhile back, skipping over files during the scan. (Maybe this is why?) Anyway, the trojan was deleted (as it couldn't be cleaned) and I moved on.

Once out of safemode, I next unintentionally uninstalled "Ipod Helper" from add/remove programs.