Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Using (coding?) The Back Button


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 KermitD

KermitD

  • Members
  • 81 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Location:Stelle, Illinois
  • Local time:10:46 PM

Posted 14 August 2007 - 09:02 AM

I go to websites which are just a group of links (like The Drudge Report). I notice that when you click on a link to go to a page and then click your Back Button it takes you back to the place on the Drudge page that you jumped out from. Am I making sense?

If I am, my question is - How do they do that? I looked at the code source page but didn't see anything spooky - anything I didn't recognize.
KermitD
Choices have consequences.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 groovicus

groovicus

  • Security Colleague
  • 9,963 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Centerville, SD
  • Local time:09:46 PM

Posted 14 August 2007 - 09:59 AM

The browser keeps a history of pages visited. When the back button is pressed, it just cycles through that list. Are you saying that regardless of the amount of links that you click, the back button takes you back to Drudge?

#3 Primex

Primex

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:05:46 AM

Posted 15 August 2007 - 05:26 PM

I think he means it in the way that anchor links work, when he presses the back button and goes to the previous website the page is scrolled to where the link is that he initially used.

I do not know how it works, or that it maybe is just a way of how some web browsers operate (as if they keep more detailed info in their history).




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users