Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

What Books Would You Reccomend For Someone New To Programming?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 TheGrayNobleman

TheGrayNobleman

• Members
  • 69 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:25 AM

Posted 13 August 2007 - 11:01 PM

I am new to the world of programming and would like to learn how to program. After reading through these forums I noticed that most people recommend C++ as a starting language. I was wondering what books you can recommend.

So far the O'Reilly books have been highly recommended by my friends.

Gr3y

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Leon Siria

Leon Siria

• Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:25 PM

Posted 14 September 2007 - 08:32 AM

I am new to the world of programming and would like to learn how to program. After reading through these forums I noticed that most people recommend C++ as a starting language. I was wondering what books you can recommend.

So far the O'Reilly books have been highly recommended by my friends.

Gr3y

Try the Schaum's outline book on C++.I have read their book on C and found it helpful.

#3 Guest_danbrownlow_*

Guest_danbrownlow_*

• Guests
  •  

Posted 22 October 2007 - 11:24 AM

Accelerated C++, search it on amazon. Amazing book, includes the STL and all that shizz. Really highly recommended book.

#4 monkpart9

monkpart9

• Members
  • 256 posts