Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Problems Installing Suse 10.2

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 sparkyuiop

sparkyuiop

• Banned
  • 74 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:18 PM

Posted 12 August 2007 - 04:22 AM

Hi all, I am a complete newbie to Linux and have decided to install it on a machine to play with it and see how I get on with it. However I am having probs installing.
The computer is as Follows.
Pentium 4 3.6ghz on MSI PM8M3 - V mainboard
160GB Sata 1
200GB Sata 2
512mb DDR400 slot1
256mb DDR400 slot2
DVRRW
The PC is currently running XP media edition on the 160GB drive but it can be erased if I get the option to format. The 200GB drive contains data that I dont want erased.
I have downloaded the DVD from 'opensuse' via bittorrent but the file was corrupt. I have now downloaded from the http method and it has extracted from the iso file ok so I burnt the iso to a dvd and have tried to install.
I get the Suse screen load up and then it turns to a black screen with the following 'errors' which I don't have a scooby what they mean so hopefully someone can help.

Ramdisk: Compressed image found at block 0
crc error
VFS: cannot open root device "<NULL>" or unknown block(8,5)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kernal Panic - not syncing :VFS : unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(8,5)