Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Unknown Malware In My Pc

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
4 replies to this topic

#1 ukbobboy

ukbobboy

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:35 AM

Posted 08 August 2007 - 02:12 PM

Hi Guys and Dolls of this forum

This is my first posting but I am by no means a PC novice, I have some technical experience, having worked on upgrading and repairing PCs for four years and I like reading user guides before installing any new hardware and/or software on my PC. I am also a stickler for privacy and security and as such have a battery of protective apps running on my computer.

Saying all that, I still have this strange problem that I cannot fix or get a sensible answer for:

Last year, around about July/August, one of my sons (I have two) downloaded what looked like a jpg file onto my desktop; I was at work at the time. This jpg seemed to be inactive so I traced it to where it was on my hard disk, it turned out to be an exe file, and deleted it, and I deleted the icon from my desktop and emptied my wastebasket (I use XP Home SP2).