Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Operating System And Recovery Console

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 mshell

mshell

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:26 PM

Posted 05 August 2007 - 04:25 PM

ok im new to this whole fourm and posting thing, and quite the lil problem, so please bare with me and my story. It would probably fit under a few catagories. lol. Ok, so here's how it all started. O-yea, i guess i should say that im running windows xp home on a hp desktop. Ok. First i noticed one day that my disk drive wasnt working, wouldnt open or close or anything, however it did have the lil power lite lit. Then i noticed that also in my computer it didnt even show that i had a E: drive at all. Also i had a few other things that had gone screwy. strange things like suddenly i couldnt defragment, it wouldnt do even analyis the drive. Windows installer quit working on me, sometimes i couldnt get into computer managment sometimes I could, and one day outta the blue my disk drive shows up and the disk drive it self open closed ran fine and then just as suddenly dissapeared again. Sooo, i was diggin around and trin to see what i could figure out and i think i might have (dont laugh to hard) changed my boot code in the config. utility menu. Now i know better than this, it was purley accidental but suddenly my pc restarted and then,