Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Help Me Build/find A Killer Machine

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 rhennessy

rhennessy

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:31 PM

Posted 05 August 2007 - 11:20 AM

I'm looking to build or find a machine that can handle today's games for around $500. I've been using work laptops for the last 10 years or so and would like to get something with a little more power. The last desktop I had I built myself in 1999 or so, it was a pentium III 500 and at the time people were jealous.
Any advice?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 jgweed

jgweed

• Members
  • 28,473 posts
  •  

Posted 05 August 2007 - 11:46 AM

Even assuming you can pirate parts from your old computer, your budget is probably not high enough to allow you to build a really good, "killer" gaming computer, since you will want a high quality graphic card, a high speed processor, and several megs of RAM.
John
Whereof one cannot speak, thereof one should be silent.

#3 Mr Alpha

Mr Alpha

• Members
  • 1,875 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:31 PM

Posted 05 August 2007 - 04:36 PM

Can't be done. At $500 your best bet is to get a low-end Dell or similar.
"Anyone who cannot form a community with others, or who does not need to because he is self-sufficient [...] is either a beast or a god." Aristotle