Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Backup - Where Is It?

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Bone Idol

Bone Idol

• Members
  • 393 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:49 AM

Posted 04 August 2007 - 05:38 AM

Hi all. I'm just a beginner. I've been trying to Backup my computer with DriveImage XML... http://www.runtime.org/dixml.htm ... I clicked Backup and it copied for over an hour and then it said Finished - which I clicked.

So where is it? Why isn't it telling me to put a DVD disc into the drive for me to make a copy? What's the point of a copy of my system being saved to hard drive? If my PC crashes I won't be able to access this copy to restore my system.

I still don't get it. Surely if your computer crashes then the solution is to put the Backup disc into the drive and copy it to hard drive?

I've found these in My Documents. Is the DAT file the one I should burn to a DVD disc?

Thanks for any help with this.

Posted Image

Moderator Edit: Moved topic to the more appropriate forum, and added a topic descriptor. ~ Animal

Edited by Animal, 04 August 2007 - 11:03 AM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 Budapest

Budapest

Bleepin' Cynic

• 23,571 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:49 PM

Posted 04 August 2007 - 05:52 AM

According to the documentation: