Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Gaming Lag

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Trainwrek

Trainwrek

• Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:32 PM

Posted 03 August 2007 - 09:59 PM

I started playing online games a while ago, I've played a range of games from fps to rts games. Recently I booted the CD to my game "Starcraft" an rts from the late 90's. I noticed that when I joined a game the lag was so bad it was nearly unplayable. I thought it was just the server so I joined another, this one was just as bad. I also got the game Age of Empires II from a friend and the same was happening with that, it wasn't AS bad but it's hard to play and not worth playing. Now the lag is so bad that I can't get the full experience of the games I've bought (and borrowed) and I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions. I thought it might be my Virtual Memory (I got a balloon coming up saying it's low) so I adjusted it and set it much higher but it didn't do the trick. Why was I once able to play games such as Half Life 2 and now my computer lags with games like Starcraft? I run Comcast Cable Internet and it's pretty fast, I don't notice any change in internet speed, just lag on my games. Is it a virus? Is it my video settings?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 idk

idk

• Members
  • 302 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:32 PM