Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Upgrading system

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 national1000

national1000

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:18 PM

Posted 30 January 2005 - 11:46 AM

Hello All,
I'm fairly new to the computer world and need help. My kids have an E-Machines
e-Monster 550. It has a Pentium III processor, 64mb Sync Dram(256 mb max),
512 kb L2 Cache (100mHz system bus) and a 15 GB Hard drive(ultra DMA/66).
Don't really know what all this means, but what i do know is that this computer
is verrry slow. What needs to be upgraded to speed things up? Can someone give
me part numbers or suggest what I need to upgrade/ I will definitely appreciate any help. My kids want me to buy them a whole new system.....HELLLLPPP!!!!
They only use it for school work, AOL Instant Messaging, and a little gaming, but
even trying to update Windows takes forever. Thanks for your ideas..
Steve

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 acklan

acklan

Bleepin' cat's meow

• Members
  • 8,529 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:18 PM

Posted 31 January 2005 - 01:15 AM