Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Recreated Directory


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Pirahnya

Pirahnya

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:01:15 AM

Posted 03 August 2007 - 09:33 AM

I started cleaning one of my drives last night and found a shared directory called "maintemp". After checking the contents, I tried deleting it and was informed it was a system folder and that I could just forget removing it (I am paraphrasing at this point).

The directory structure of this folder is: maintemp/*user*/start menu/programs

*user* is the primary user setup on the computer. The programs directory has shortcuts in it. I deleted all the shortcuts but could not remove any folder (all are system folders). At a command prompt I could change the attributes of all the folders and remove all BUT the maintemp.

Rebooted to Safe Mode Command Prompt and was able to remove the maintemp directory. Did not show up in Safe Mode (using My Computer). Rebooted to Normal Mode. Entire maintemp directory structure was recreated (with the exception of the shortcuts in the programs directory).

Did not find any reference to maintemp in the registry and Hijack didn't reveal anything that just popped up and said, "Hi, I'm the offender, shoot me!"

It's not hurting anything, but it's irritating. :thumbsup:

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 pascor22234

pascor22234

  • Members
  • 403 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:02:15 AM

Posted 03 August 2007 - 05:41 PM

Chances are good that this was created by a particular application of yours. When you boot normally the application runs in the background and locks the directory, so you weren't able to delete it. Booting into Safe mode didn't allow that program to start up and so it couldn't prevent you from deleting it then.

You may find that some application of yours no longer works correctly.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users