Jump to content


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.


Change Domain Name Resolution Order

  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 btif


  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Local time:06:44 PM

Posted 03 August 2007 - 06:41 AM

Hi, I am trying to change the order of Domain Name Resolution on a Windows XP SP2 computer. The default order for Domain Name Resolution within XP is:

1.Hosts File
2.Domain Name System

However I would like to change the order to:

1.Domain Name System
2.Hosts File

I have tried changing this order by editing the registry keys that are described in this tutorial:
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/what-is-domain-name-resolution/. This is what I did:

I changed the values of the following registry keys:
DnsPriority = 30
HostsPriority = 75
NetbtPriority = 100
LocalPriority = 200

These subkeys can be found under this registry key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\ServiceProvider to.

However this did not work, and I tried this on a number of different computers.

Am I doing something wrong? Or is there another way to change the domain name resolution order?

Any help would be really appreciated.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users