Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Can I Salvage This Computer

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 wingin-it

wingin-it

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:17 PM

Posted 31 July 2007 - 03:34 PM

Hey All,
My husband brought home a computer that was previously used and I think it may be a good computer, as I am a novice who can say.
It was set up to network so I assume for an office use.
It is an HP Pavilion 8770C running Windows 2000 Office.
I do not have the disks to reinstall the Windows if I trash them but can live with that.
I am of course not the Admin so I cant or dont know how to change any thing on it( and would really like to use it singularly) and I cant seem to make the computer not look for network connections at start up and cant seem to remove the Aol icon or program that it used to connect.
I would really like to clean this thing up and use it if it is feasible. It isnt connected to the internet and wont be until such a time as I can do something with it.
Anyhoo any ideas or advice welcomed.
Thanks Wing

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 need TOS

need TOS

• Members
  • 888 posts
  •  

Posted 31 July 2007 - 04:21 PM