Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Advice For External Storage Device?

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 jhsmurray

jhsmurray

• Members
  • 383 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:24 PM

Posted 26 July 2007 - 06:42 AM

Hi all,

I'm looking for some disaster recovery options for the comps on my network. There are so many options! :huh:
Anyways, I'm a total noob with this and I'd like to figure something out before the "problem" hits me in the face. :huh:

If anybody has experience with this, I'm all ears! Note: this is not a request to laborously scour the net - I'm really just looking for advice from someone with first hand experience B)

Using a Vista Home Premium//Toshiba and an XP-SP2//Dell Inspiron on a Belkin G+ MIMO Modem/Router.
Residing in UK (220v)

I've put together a list of things that might illustrate what I am looking for.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Must Have (in order of precedence):
- Capacity: 250GB+
- Ethernet and USB2 interface
- Reliable/Reputable/Good Data&Hardware Warranty
- Cost < 150 B.P.
- Vista Compatible

Nice To Have:
- Dual 220v & 110v capacity (US/UK interchangable, must be UK if only one choice)
- Software bundle: Disk Imaging AND single file/directory retrieval
- RAID?
------------------------------------------------------------------------------