Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Help With Parts To Buy For A Computer

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 osakamitsu

osakamitsu

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:36 AM

Posted 22 July 2007 - 11:05 AM

Hello... I am just getting into building computers, so there is A LOT I either don't know or don't understand yet. But I have been pricing parts online and I needed some opinions. I plan on playing a lot of games on it. Epecially the newer one like Bioshock that look like they are going to use vista and direct x10. Besides I already have vista ultimate. I also do some video editing and 3D modeling. I even use programs like reason to compose music. I guess my problem comes in with what mother board do I buy? I know the least about them. I was thinking about buying a Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600, Radeaon HD 2900 XT, 4 gigs of ram. I just want to make sure this is a good bond between them. What motherboard will work best with that set up? Also I would like DDR3 ram if possible. Another thing... what kind of power supply would I need for all of that? I hear the 2900 XT uses a lot of power. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Sneakycyber

Sneakycyber

Network Engineer

• BC Advisor
  • 6,135 posts
  •  

Posted 22 July 2007 - 12:40 PM