Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Another C++ N00b

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Patch-C

Patch-C

• Members
  • 31 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:21 PM

Posted 18 July 2007 - 03:23 AM

Hiya,

I'm another n00b and want to learn C++ i did a bit of VB.net at school and self taught a bit of Qbasic. I was just wondering if any could explain what these variable identifiers mean:

float
double
long double
wchar_t

I'm competent with Char, long, int, short from .net but have no idea about these

Cheers...

Patch

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 Glunn11

Glunn11

• Members
  • 262 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:21 PM

Posted 18 July 2007 - 11:33 AM

Well, to get you started, a "float" is a number with decimal points, and wchar_t is a wide character.
I'm unsure of double and long double.

#3 Patch-C

Patch-C
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 31 posts
  •  

Posted 19 July 2007 - 01:06 AM

Thanks Man..

That makes perfect sense with the float but the w_char??

#4 groovicus

groovicus

• Security Colleague
  • 9,963 posts
  •  

Posted 19 July 2007 - 10:22 AM